Shine on

Keeping a positive attitude is essential in life and especially important in the month of March in MPLS. Everyone has had it with winter, though a few warmer days peek through, we know we’re not in the clear until well after March, the snowiest of all months. Dressing for spring weather in MN is a crap shoot, I can’t tell you how many times I have gotten caught with way too much on, or worse, way too little, but I simply can’t wait any longer. I dug out my summer clothes and I’ve decided to will the season forward through interpretive dress.Shine on | L'avenirShine on | L'avenirShine on | L'avenir

This cutie one shoulder dress is perfect as it is navy and doesn’t completely read “summer”. I love the little star pattern, it pairs well with a little extra sparkle, the chevron twinkle tights. Feeling sassy as I always do in my suede fringe boots, I realized I need a sweater or people are going to think I’m insane. Enter the adorable ( and ever so versatile) 1940’s sweater with beaded collar. Joan urged me to buy this and she couldn’t have been more right on. It’s so ladylike and shapely, and even though it has a beaded collar and fancy rhinestone buttons, it has an understated quality that makes it dressy or casual. For jewels, I went with a stack of bracelets with silver clear and aurora sparkle. My grandfather, Martin, refers to my ‘diamonds’ as those “Canardlee Diamonds” as in “you can hardly see ’em”. Charming as ever, Gramps still has a twinkle in his eye and maybe the most positive attitude of anyone I know.

Photos by Michael Houser

Leave a Reply

