Davina | Getting to know the muse

When we approached Davina this spring to start the process of working with her we could not have been more thrilled.  An up and coming performer that embodies the strong female lead roll, stylish, gorgeous and equipped with a hell of a set of pipes. Besides loving the music we were really looking forward to transforming elements of her persona into a collection that is attainable for people who fall into a variety of different styles. The next few weeks mark the time where we start to unveil the pieces we have been pulling together for months now. To kick off the process we thought it would be fitting to introduce the muse herself:

{ Photos by Garrett Born }

{ J & J } Your style seems to be infused in everything you do, listening to your album or a performance your voice seems to coincide perfectly with the persona you embody.  How would you define this signature style?

{ D } I am a fan of simple colors with a pop of pattern or opposing color in my accessories. I lend to style’s past, 40’s and 50’s are my love. I love 40s hair, shoes, purses, jewelry and casual wear, but tend to feel that a 50s shape dress fits my curves and body type better. I love a sense of darkness in my dresses at times too. I will always hold my gothic teenage years close to my heart for fall and winter.. Black lace, velvet, petticoats.. A nice dark lipstick and heavy black eyeliner. DRAMA DRAMA DRAMA and sass.

{ J & J } It has to be hard being prepared and looking so stylish while on the way to a gig. How has being a performer affected your everyday style?

{ D } It’s difficult to be perfect for every gig with the crazy schedule that I have. Also being on the road can be difficult, but I make sure that I dress to the nines regardless. I can apply eyeliner and fake lashes on the highway going 70+… When I’m not driving …
I have learned great easy up dos with my hair… Dresses help me as well. It gives me the opportunity to not have to pick separates. I am particular with my dresses though. They have to scream DAVINA!

{ J & J } There must be a few things you love to put on before a performance, what are your favorite things to wear when you’re on stage?

{ D } Petticoats and lipstick

{ J & J } When did you start collecting some of your favorite pieces?

{ D } I’ve gone through so many closet change overs. I try to sort though every six months to make room for my performance dresses. I’ve been a collector of vintage clothing since I was in JR high.. I frequented all the thrift stores in my home town weekly. I’ve always loved wearing one of a kind vintage pieces. I was  often made fun of my peers for being a bit different in my clothing selection… but screw them… I loved it and wore it proud.

{ J & J } Where are your favorite places to shop?

{ D } Vintage stores.. I have developed relationships on the road with many vintage clothing store owners. Some will even hold dresses in my size for me until I make it to their area. I have to pack light sometimes (Well, I try to pack light), if in know I am hitting a city that has my favorite stores in them. I will end up buying dresses and wearing them on that tour.. MY poor busting at the seams suitcase on those trips are ready to pop.

{ J & J } The skeleton keys are a huge draw for us when we start to define your style to our viewers. Each has so much personality it’s hard not to fall in love. What was the draw for you to start collecting the keys?

{ D } I grew up in an older home filled with stained glass, mahogany wood all around, and thick old doors to each room with a skeleton key hole.. I remember the first time I saw a skeleton key as a child. It was magical to me. I’m not sure why.. But it made me feel like I could open a secret door to a mystical place. I’ve been collecting them ever since. 

L'AVENIR // skeleton keys

Want to see more? Check out past posts on the Davina Collection {here} {here} {here} and check out the music:

3 Comments

  1. […] left with something entirely new and different. For our line of key necklaces we started with our muse and our materials, added, subtracted, redesigned and perfected. A staple in our collection and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

